April Showers.

The saying goes “April showers bring May flowers”. Seemed rather suitable tonight as we got our first major thunderstorm of the season. There’s something about thunderstorms that intrigues me. They scare me a bit, because they have so much power- we should never forget that the power of destruction held by humankind, no matter how devastating, is nothing compared to the power that Mother Nature has the ability to unleash upon us. The thing about the universe’s power is that there is no one we can try to negotiate with, nothing we can do to stop it once it decides to start.

At the same time, thunderstorms remind me how alive the Earth around is really is. The rain pouring down beginning a season of growth, the lightning that illuminates the dark skies for moments at a time causing your eye to take in as much of its surroundings as it can within the small window of brightness. It really is beautiful.

Aside from this, I don’t want to wait until May for my flowers, and I’ve been so excited to begin my modernized flower crowns since my supplies arrived in the mail. I love crafting. And I love flowers. And I love headbands. So it only makes sense to craft them together.

Free Spirit Babe // Modern Flower Crown

To start with, I only ordered three colors of flowers – white teal and pink. (I apologize for photo quality, most of my photos are from my Nikon DSLR, the ones included with this post are from my iPhone.) I love pastels, they add color without being too overwhelming, which can create a softer more feminine look. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely adore bright bolds as well, but sometimes they don’t fit with the look that I envision.

Free Spirit Babe // Modern Flower Crown

In this photo it is more clear that I also used a fun patterned elastic; again, nothing too sophisticated that would take away from the softness of the pastels or the focus from the flowers. The one I used for this crown is a teal similar to that of the teal flowers with a metallic gold chevron. I also have a white with metallic gold arrows which I plan to use as well. Tonight I only had enough time to get this one together along with a simpler one with only three flowers which I promised to make for my mom.

I do have an Etsy shop which I may add some of these to once I create more; currently my shop consists of mostly baby clothes I’ve created. I’ve considered taking most of the listings down multiple times so that I can keep the pieces for my own daughter, but I’ve managed to resist the urge. For now, at least.

“Storms make trees take deeper roots” – Dolly Parton

Xoxo,

Free Spirit Babe

 

Leave a Reply

